Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Thailand Do's & Don'ts

Thailand Do's & Don'ts

I've been working on some stickies/faqs for the forum and came up with the idea of having a quick glance do's and don'ts thread. I've got a start, by no means comprehensive aimed at complete newbs or people who went for a trip and came back a little bewildered with the place. One or two sentences max, so add away and we should have a pretty good resource here for visitors.

Do’s and Don’ts
    Do drink lots of bottled water, it’s cheap (10 baht in 7/11)and available everywhere and your hotel will probably leave you a couple of bottles for free every day.

Don’t get so drunk that you make yourself a target, there are plenty of bad people in Thailand especially around the nightlife areas looking to make an easy baht.

Do try some Thai food, western food is easily available in the main tourist areas but Thai food is great and good for you – they know westerners aren’t great for spicy food so just tell them - no spicy!

Don’t insult the King or royal family, this can extend to stepping on a banknote, always respect the Thai royal family.

Do try the local beers – Chang and Singha being the most popular, it’s cheaper too!

Don’t disrespect the bargirls, they’re people too, treat them good and they’ll look after you.

Do visit a few temples, they really can be extraordinary places.

Don’t ring the barbell without checking how much it costs first, not having enough baht on you will mean you’ll be marched to the nearest ATM.

Do haggle in the markets, it’s expected and fun and you might get a bargain.

Don’t lose your cool or shout when haggling, it won’t get you anywhere.

Do go see some Muay Thai or kick boxing, fights happen all the time and it’s a cheap night out.

Don’t shake an Indian tailors hand – It’s weird at first and seems rude but once they have you they don’t like letting go. It’s ok, they’re well used to it.