Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree30Likes

Thread: If a poster dies...

If a poster dies...

do you care?

Weird, but a guy I've been talking to online for a few years now just died and I find I'm actually really sad about it. He was a customs guy, worked ICE in SW America. We used to talk on the fight forum about his job and mine and the fact that certain things just jade you as a person... and lead you to drink. He was a decent guy. Smart. Posted pix of himself and his family. We always talked about how we'd have a beer if I made it out his way. Now he's gone at the ripe old age of 40.

Makes me wonder... many more of us have met one another here than a typical forum... but still, if someone passed here, would ya care? Would it actually make you sad or would it just be another thread. Obviously Nicke just passed, but he was more of a focal point than most can claim. A good guy to all, so his situation wasnt typical.

Just curious... is it normal to feel a loss over people who were only words on a screen to you?

Same here , maybe because of his last threads describing his illness , but I was moved by Rex's passing even though we had never met
    quiksilva likes this.
    'If it floats, flies or fcuks , it's cheaper to rent"

It's a good point seeing as more of peoples lives are being spent online, I try to limit my online presence with this site being the major exception. I guess it's a bit like a musician or actor or author dying that you may never have met but feel like you know through another medium which is what the internet has evolved into being.

Would we even know if a lot of posters/BM's died ?