Thread: American Flights.

American Flights.

First off the bat, Priceline is changing my opinion on third party providers, previously, I've always found price comparison websites like Expedia, Webjet and agencies like Flight Centre to be pretty shit.

However I'm looking at South American flights and remembering something that Paulie said on the old PI forums about finding it pretty hard to get around America without using these sites and as it turns out... He was right.

After being at my wits end with crappy airline sites (JetBlue didnt work on my desktop, laptop or phone) and my usual failures with SkyScanner/Expedia I gave priceline a go. Found it pretty easy to navigate around, the multi city option looks to save me a packet and get me onto shorter flights. As far as usability goes, Priceline is up there with the best airline sites I've used. My only complaint is that there isn't a fare matrix for multiple days (at least not that I've found yet).

I've never used Priceline before (in Oz, Priceline is a chain of cut price hair salons).

But onto the topic at hand. Below are a my options (hopefully the formatting survives).

I've got a few questions,
    - Any issues with Priceline?
    - Any airlines to avoid?
    - The flights are going to be routed through Miami (AA), JFK (JetBlue), Panama (Copa) or El Salvador (Avianca), Are any of these airports a PITA to get through?
    - Any airlines I haven't considered?
    - Is 3 hours worth $250?
    - General tips and tricks with the US and Latin America appreciated as always.

Flight
    Duration Cost
    Airline
    LAX-MDE 9.50 $ 720.00 Avianca
    MDE-STI 4.50 $ 718.00 Copa
    POP-LAX 10.25 $ 596.00 AA
    Total 24.25 $ 2,034.00
    Flight
    Duration Cost Airline
    LAX-MDE 11.30 $ 610.00 AA
    MDE-SDQ 5.00 $ 505.00 Copa
    POP-LAX 13.20 $ 319.00 JetBlue
    Total 29.50 $ 1,434.00
    Flight
    Duration Cost Airline
    LAX-POP 13.00 $ 380.00 JetBlue
    STI-MDE 12.50 $ 496.00 AA