Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Which Smart TV?

Which Smart TV?

Strolled through Future Today, lots of specials on Large screen TVs.

What brand is best nowadays?

I bought my first flat screen TV a couple of months ago, I have no experience except with that one - and that one, I will strongly warn against, it's a Phillips.

The logo on the front of the panel has light in it which is truly perverted. It also has lights on the back to light up the wall around the TV. Some like that, I hate it. The light in the logo can be turned off, and so can the back light. But every now and again it is turned back on, thus you have to go through the settings to turn it off again.

I have more caveats, but they may be the same for TVs from other flat panel makers as well, like slow to change the station and difficult to see in daylight due to glare.

Not the TV as such, more the service: I was supposed to get a free 265 decoder sent to me, but I never got it.

value for money Samsung then L+G seem to be the ones walking out the door

Panasonic reputedly the best picture and Samsung for number of dedicated apps, ease of use and general good quality picture.

You may guess, I have a Samsung.

Oh, get a soundbar to go with the TV. Improves the sound quality no end.
    RIP Nicke June 1971 - Jan 2013.

AT SOME POINT IN LIFE, EVERYONE HAS GAMBLED ON A FART AND LOST.

Smart TVs Are Stupid: Why You Don?t Really Want a Smart TV (Updated)

In summary, forget all your fantasies about smart TVs. They’re just not very good — even if you have a smart TV, you’re better off picking up a cheap streaming box and using it instead of your smart TV’s software. You’ll also be way better off in a few years when that box is still getting updates while your old TV is forgotten by its manufacturer. Even if the box becomes outdated as fast as the TV, it’s much cheaper to replace the box than the entire TV set.
    kris-one and Waharoa like this.