Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By Greatdane
  • 2 Post By Geespot
  • 1 Post By Captain
  • 1 Post By Robaht

Thread: Sim Card

Sim Card

I need a Thai sim card. I am in Thailand 2 times every year. Each time I am here for about 4 weeks, but there can be between 6 to 8 months between my trips. I don't have Thai creditcard og bank account. I would like to be able to keep the same number from one trip to the next.
    Question : Which sim card should I get, and where can I get it in Patong.

Hope some of the regular BMs can help.

I have an AIS card with a subscription, costing 399 baht a month for 1.5 GB data at full speed. If I use more, the speed is lowered. The limit is no problem for me, as most of the time, I use Wi-Fi.

I do not know where you can buy the sim card in Patong. If you go to the phone shops at the top floor in Jungceylon, they only have special tourist sim cards which is more expensive and only works for 14 days, as far as I remember. AIS have a customer support next to the phone shops. They do not sell sim cards, but they can help with the subscription.

Are you here already? At Suvarnabhumi, AIS have a shop where you can get sim cards and subscriptions. I can imagine they have one at Phuket Airport as well.
    Dkdude likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by Greatdane View Post
    I have an AIS card with a subscription, costing 399 baht a month for 1.5 GB data at full speed. If I use more, the speed is lowered. The limit is no problem for me, as most of the time, I use Wi-Fi.

I do not know where you can buy the sim card in Patong. If you go to the phone shops at the top floor in Jungceylon, they only have special tourist sim cards which is more expensive and only works for 14 days, as far as I remember. AIS have a customer support next to the phone shops. They do not sell sim cards, but they can help with the subscription.